Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (1) - Books (5) - Games (1)

Ancient Chinese Weapons: A Martial Arts Guide review

Posted : 5 months ago on 18 May 2017 04:46 (A review of Ancient Chinese Weapons: A Martial Arts Guide)

Fine book if you are interested in the topic and don't know much, but lacking depth into actual techniques and training methods used at different points in time: it looks more like a catalogue than a real guide


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity review

Posted : 6 months ago on 24 April 2017 02:58 (A review of Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity)

This is a great book... unless you've already been doing GTD without reading the source material but the myriad of blogs, podcasts and other books about the topic (and using some common sense).

Doing the initial legwork of coming up with most of this stuff and organizing it in a "methodology" is a great achievement we all have to recognize. However, unless you've never heard about GTD before now, I wouldn't spend much time on these book


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The End of Food: How the Food Industry is Destroying Our Food Supply--And What We Can Do About It review

Posted : 2 years, 6 months ago on 11 April 2015 01:04 (A review of The End of Food: How the Food Industry is Destroying Our Food Supply--And What We Can Do About It)

If you know at least a little about the topic of how bad our food system currently is, I'd rather spend my time learning how to grow my own food, growing it or buying from local farmers markets than reading this book: you won't find anything new here.

If you are interested, but don't know anything about the topic, watching a good documentary is more cost effective (Food Inc is my fav), as there are no practical tips in this book, and it's fairly boring. After learning more about the topic, you'll be better off reading the first paragraph of this review


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Budo: The Art of Killing review

Posted : 2 years, 9 months ago on 10 January 2015 10:10 (A review of Budo: The Art of Killing)

Even though it has some interesting footage and shows the highlights of various Japanese martial arts, this documentary feels a little too slow or moments, repeating similar fragments over and over again.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Password Incorrect (Geek Fiction Stories Vol. 1/2) review

Posted : 4 years, 8 months ago on 29 January 2013 08:08 (A review of Password Incorrect (Geek Fiction Stories Vol. 1/2))

Even though this compilation has some good short stories (like "Password Incorrect", the one that gives name to the book), the overall quality is pretty low. If you're a geek, I would recommend starting to read it and throw it away as soon as you feel the stories are getting dumber.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Analects Of Confucius review

Posted : 6 years, 12 months ago on 24 October 2010 07:02 (A review of The Analects Of Confucius)

Even though this is a masterpiece because of its content, the particular edition (bilingual) is an extremely bad one. The binding is ugly and the translation, awful


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Machinarium review

Posted : 7 years, 2 months ago on 12 August 2010 09:15 (A review of Machinarium)

Playing this game feels like going back to the 90s, with unforgettable Point & Click Graphic Adventures... but with XXI Century hand drawn graphics and an amazing soundtrack. If you love GA, go for this one


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block